I am already concerned that I come across as a snobby Torontonian here in Thunder Bay. I'm definitely in more of a hurry and concerned with things being "proper" than most folks I've encountered. But now I fear I am known as the woman who argues with trainers in orientation. What I
know I am is the woman who can't allow trainers to misrepresent research in presentations and will correct them when I clearly know they are wrong.
I don't think other folks necessarily get the difference.
I have many many many days worth of orientation between the 4 sites I will work at. Different sites have different record keeping procedures and way to chart patients. I will never figure why I was trained on a Hoyer Lift. I have a pin that declares I know how to wash my hands (it's harder than you think!). AND, and and and and... I am now certified in non-violent crisis intervention. This certification, however, in no way means that I feel
comfortable doing non-violent crisis intervention. By the way, did you know that psychologists are in the running for most-likely-to-be-violently-attacked-on-the-job? Yay! And because we genuinely give a rat's ass about patients and don't want to hurt them or make them feel bad for things they have trouble controlling, we don't want to hurt them when we get out of harm's way.
Here's the thing. I used to do Judo. Not a lot, and not for very long. But let's just say that my previous training, as well as all the women's self-defense classes I've taken, are really well ingrained in my mind. Having protected myself from a rough-and-tumble older brother for the first 18 years of my life, I'm primed to retaliate swiftly and without mercy. In fact, just ask my brother about the time I accidentally knocked him out cold after he shoved me on my bike. [I was 10 or younger and paid my debt by delivering all his newspapers that day.] These knee-jerk defenses are hard to overcome. But rest assured, I was non-violent all day, even during the role-plays! They gave me the certification! I'm non-violent, dammit!
This really awesome dude, Remon, did a great job putting up with my corrections (as well as the constant grilling I and the other psychology residents gave him). He kept great humour and really played well to the rest of the house, which was made up of PSWs, nurses, and housekeeping/food services staff.
Remon was a phenomenal trainer and was kind enough to allow me to post this picture of him on my blog. One of the things that delighted me most about his workshop was how down-to-earth he was and how easily he got on with all the hard-working types in the room. He is clearly a muscular man (extensive martial arts training), and it delighted me that a north-western Ontario (think Fargo-lite + strong-hoser) came out of his finely coiffed and finely dressed personage. Delightful!
I do get to actually start work this week (assessments, whooo!), but there is more orientation to come. I am doing my best not to correct well meaning colleagues who ask, "Are you all orientated yet?" in all earnestness. And I hope for the same consideration when I breach Thunder Bay social etiquette and come across like a jerk-ass big city snob.
Have you ever found yourself unable to hold back from correcting someone even though it was not the socially graceful thing to do? Share your experience in the comments!